The Oklahoma medical marijuana market has become the biggest in the US in just three short years. Sooner State MMJ patients have access to a medical marijuana program that is the envy of patients in other states.
MMJ dispensaries in OK are some of the best in the US. But can you go into a dispensary without a card in Oklahoma? Read on for all you need to know.
Oklahoma Medical Marijuana
The Oklahoma medical marijuana program is one of the most liberal and patient-friendly programs in the US. Oklahoma has almost 400,000 registered medical marijuana patients and nearly 2,500 caregivers. With almost 10% of the population availing of MMJ treatment, Oklahoma has more MMJ patients per capita than any other state.
How Many MMJ Dispensaries Are In Oklahoma?
As well as having a lot of medical marijuana patients and caregivers, Oklahoma also has the most MMJ dispensaries in the US. There are over 2,000 dispensaries across the state. Thanks to this stiff competition, OK is home to some of the best MMJ dispensaries that sell a wide range of high-quality products.
What Medical Marijuana Products Are Available In OK Dispensaries?
Oklahoma dispensaries sell a wider selection of medical marijuana products than are available in most other states. Oklahoma dispensaries sell:
- Marijuana flower
- Accessories such as pipes and cleaners
Can You Go Into A Dispensary Without A Card In Oklahoma?
So, can you enter an OK dispensary without a card? Yes, you can enter an Oklahoma MMJ dispensary without an MMJ card – but you cannot actually purchase products that include medical marijuana without a card.
What Can You Buy In An OK Dispensary Without A Medical Card?
If you visit an Oklahoma dispensary without any type of patient license (or OMMA acceptance email, under certain circumstances), you can only purchase products that do not contain marijuana – for example, accessories such as vapes, pipes, and cleaners.
Do You Need A Dispensary Card In Oklahoma?
Yes, you need an Oklahoma dispensary card to purchase medical marijuana in Oklahoma. However, there are certain times when you can purchase MMJ without having an OK dispensary card.
Can You Go To A Dispensary With An Approval Email In Oklahoma?
You can purchase MMJ with an approval email in some OK dispensaries, but not all. You can also purchase MMJ with an expired card for a 30-day grace period under Oklahoma MMJ law.
What Types Of Medical Marijuana Licenses Are Available In Oklahoma?
The types of MMJ licenses available in Oklahoma are:
- Patient License
- Temporary Patient License
- Oklahoma Non-Resident Medical Marijuana Patient License (coming soon)
- Caregiver License
- Business License
What Is An Oklahoma Temporary Patient License?
The Oklahoma Temporary Patient License is a medical marijuana license that allows MMJ card holders from other states to purchase MMJ in Oklahoma dispensaries. These cost $100, are valid for 30 days, and can be renewed. To get an Oklahoma Temporary Patient License, you should apply through the OMMA website.
What Is An Oklahoma Non-Resident Medical Marijuana Patient License?
In February 2021, the Oklahoma House passed House Bill 2022. The bill still needs to be approved by the state Senate, but if it is, it will allow visitors from any of the other 50 US states to get an Oklahoma Non-Resident Medical Marijuana Patient License.
This license gives patients the ability to avail of MMJ treatment in OK once they are approved by an OK MMJ physician, even if they live in a state in which MMJ is still illegal.An Oklahoma Non-Resident Medical Marijuana Patient License will be valid for two years and will cost $200.
What Are The Qualifying Conditions For An Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card?
Oklahoma does not have a list of official medical marijuana qualifying conditions. A person will qualify for an MMJ card in OK if a physician in the state deems that medical marijuana treatment will improve their symptoms, no matter what medical condition they have.
Who Can Prescribe Oklahoma MMJ?
Only a licensed Oklahoma physician can prescribe medical marijuana in the state of Oklahoma.
How Much MMJ Can You Buy In A Dispensary In Oklahoma?
Oklahoma MMJ possession limits are:
- Up to three ounces of marijuana on your person
- Up to eight ounces of marijuana in your residence
- Up to one ounce of concentrated marijuana
- Up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana
- Up to six mature marijuana plants
- Up to six seedling plants
How Do You Get An Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Card?
You apply for all types of Oklahoma medical marijuana cards through the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) website. The best way to get a physician recommendation is to have a telemedicine consultation with an Oklahoma MMJ physician through the MMJRecs online clinic.