Since 2018, medical marijuana has been legal in the state of Oklahoma. That means that if you live in Oklahoma and have been awarded a state-approved medical marijuana license, then you are eligible to legally purchase and consume marijuana. There are limits to what you can have on your person and in your home, as well as qualifications you must meet in order to get a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma, which is why it’s important to understand the law and your rights under it. If you’re from the Sooner State and think you may benefit from medical marijuana, then here’s what you need to know.
Do You Qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Oklahoma is unique in that its medical marijuana law leaves it up to the discretion of the doctor treating you to decide if MMJ would assist in the treatment of your condition or illness. To put it simply: A doctor can recommend medical marijuana as a treatment for any condition they see fit.
This is great in that it gives your doctor full discretion, but it has disadvantages too. Your doctor may not consider medical marijuana to be an appropriate treatment for you. Luckily, if you find that’s the case, then you can simply consult another doctor for a second opinion.
Some of the most common conditions that doctors recommend MMJ for include (but are not limited to):
- Seizure disorders such as epilepsy
- Chronic pain
- Muscle spasms
- Terminal illness
- Neuropathic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- Eating disorders such as anorexia and bulimia
If you think you can benefit from medical marijuana, then talk to your doctor. Remember, according to federal law, marijuana cannot be prescribed. Doctors are protected in recommending it to their patients, but they cannot help you to obtain it. That means they will not discuss specific cannabis products with you nor will they talk about dosages or strains. What they can do is fill out a form that shows they discussed the risks of the use of marijuana with you and certify that they believe the benefits to be worth it in the treatment of your illness. Once they sign off on the form, you have 30 days to obtain your medical marijuana card online via the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority website.
The application fee for a medical marijuana card is $100. If you have Medicaid or Medicare, the fee is only $20. You should be notified within 14 days of your submitting your application whether you’ve been approved.
Once you are approved for a card, then you will receive an identification card with your photo, date of birth, name, city and county of residence, the expiration date of the license, and a unique license number just for your medical marijuana card. It is valid for two years from the date it is issued. Simply present it when buying from a licensed dispensary.
What the Law Allows
Once you have a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma, it’s not a license to have as much marijuana on you as you’d like. In fact, the state law only allows you to possess three ounces or less on your person, 72 ounces of edibles, eight ounces of cannabis in your home, or six mature plants.
The law also requires you to only buy MMJ products from a licensed dispensary. All dispensaries must be a licensed medical marijuana retailer. It’s illegal for you to purchase from someone who is not licensed or from another patient who has a medical marijuana card.
It’s also important to note that a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma also does not allow you to use marijuana in your workplace. While your employer cannot discriminate against you due to your status as a medical marijuana patient, they can still write you up or enforce rules against using it in the workplace or being impaired when on the job.
A few other crucial things to note about an Oklahoma medical marijuana card is that:
- It does not allow you to take marijuana across state lines – especially to a state where medical marijuana is not legal
- It does not allow you to go to another state that has recreational marijuana laws and bring marijuana back into Oklahoma
- You cannot smoke marijuana in places that tobacco is prohibited
- You cannot purchase marijuana with a credit card; dispensaries only accept cash
- You cannot give your medical marijuana away to another person
- You cannot operate a motor vehicle when under the influence of medical marijuana
Make sure you understand and follow all the laws surrounding medical marijuana in Oklahoma.
You may be worried about what to do if stopped by police with MMJ on you, which is why it’s important to understand your rights in Oklahoma as a medical marijuana patient.
First and foremost, have all your basic bases covered. That means you should always keep your MMJ card or a copy of it on you. Also, always keep the medical marijuana you have in its original containers from the dispensary and keep your receipt. When transporting medical marijuana in your vehicle, make sure it’s someplace that is not accessible, such as your trunk.
You can still be charged with driving under the influence if police suspect you to be impaired due to marijuana consumption. That’s why it’s important that you familiarize yourself with and follow all laws surrounded the use of medical marijuana in Oklahoma. If you’re ever confronted by police, you don’t want to give them any reasons to take further action.