Can You Own A Gun And Have A Medical Card In Missouri In 2021?

With the widespread adoption of medical marijuana across the United States, many laws and regulations have been put in place for those who wish to get a medical marijuana card. These laws were created so that those who use medical marijuana can do so safely and without prejudice, and also so that those in the general public are also safe. For example, someone who uses MMJ for a health condition cannot drive while they are under the influence. This law is designed to protect both the general public as well as the person who needs medical marijuana to help manage their illness.

When it comes to other laws surrounding medical marijuana, you may be confused about various regulations surrounding use at your workplace, random workplace drug tests, or even owning a gun. Most American citizens have a right to own a gun – but can you still consider owning a firearm if you use medical marijuana in Missouri?

marijuana leaf against sunset
Image by Manish Panghal on Unsplash: Is it easy to get a medical card in Missouri?

Missouri medical marijuana laws

According to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, there are over 120,000 registered patients using medical marijuana to treat qualifying conditions. These patients require MMJ to treat symptoms of things such as cancer, epilepsy, chronic pain, debilitating psychiatric disorders, and terminal illnesses, to name a few. The laws surrounding the use of medical marijuana ensure that those who are qualified have access to their medicine at all times.

Some laws that exist to help those with needs for MMJ include the patient possession limit law, which states that a person with a registered card can purchase up to four ounces of marijuana every 30 days. The limit can also be set on possession as long as it isn’t less than a 60-day supply. For those who qualify and wish to cultivate their own marijuana for medical use, they can have up to six plants, which must be grown in a closed and locked area.

Is it easy to get a medical card in Missouri?

Getting a medical card in Missouri isn’t a difficult process, but there are several steps that need to be taken to qualify for a card. An application must be submitted with the correct forms, including a physician’s certification that states that the patient in question has a qualifying condition that applies to the state’s medical marijuana laws on who can obtain a card. There are two versions of this form: the Standard Physician Certification Form and the Alternative Physician Certification form.

The standard form is designed for people who have a recommended dose of four ounces per month, and the alternative form is for those who require more than that amount. For those who need more than four ounces, two Alternative Physician Certification forms need to be filled out by two different doctors, and the qualifying condition must be listed the same on both forms.

Once the forms are completed, the application can be submitted online. Patients will have to register as new patients. The wait for processing of the application can be up to 30 days.

gun bullets
Image by Joe on Unsplash: Can you buy a gun with a medical card in Missouri?

Gun ownership for medical marijuana card holders

Owning a gun in the United States is an Amendment right. In the Missouri Constitution, there is no section or reference to firearms or the prohibited use of purchasing or possessing a gun while you have a medical marijuana card in the state. This, however, does not automatically mean that you can purchase or possess a firearm in the state if you have a medical marijuana card. This is because there are differences in state and federal laws. According to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, the federal law may prohibit guns for those who use marijuana.

This is because marijuana is still illegal under federal law. Since it is illegal, you cannot possess a firearm if you have a medical marijuana card. The laws may be changing, though. In December of 2020, a bill was passed that would decriminalize marijuana at a federal level across the country. That bill needs to go up the chain to be passed at a federal level, though, which may still be a ways off. 

Owning a gun in Missouri while in the possession of medical marijuana may be illegal as of now, but the laws are changing when it comes to marijuana legalization at a federal level, so it may be possible in the future.

Featured image by Brittney Butler on Unsplash

Can Your Employer Ask You If You Have An MMJ Card In Missouri?

Medical marijuana in Missouri has been on a long journey since 2014. The laws regarding possession were loosened in that year, and in 2018 Missourians were approved the right to use medical marijuana in the state. The changes to the Amendment 2 that allowed for the use of medical marijuana came into effect in late 2019. Licenses for dispensaries, labs, and producers were given out by the state going into 2020. Now, those who need MMJ to help manage a debilitating or chronic disease have access to the medicine they require.

Qualifying patients can now request the use of medical marijuana from the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services, the government organization that oversees the MMJ program, applications, and licensing for patients, caregivers, and businesses. Having an approved condition doesn’t automatically grant someone access to medical marijuana, but upon an approved application, they can possess up to four ounces, the equivalent of a 30-day supply.

Someone who is approved and uses medical marijuana to help treat their condition might wonder how that might affect their employment. So can your employer ask you if you have an MMJ card in Missouri? And can using medical marijuana cause you to lose your job in the state of Missouri? Read on to find out.

Can my employer find out I have a medical card in Missouri?

After going through the process of qualifying for a medical card in Missouri, you will be protected under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, otherwise known as HIPAA. This act states that patients do not have to disclose medical information to outside sources, even their employer, if they choose not to. This means that unless you willingly offer up the information to your employer about your medical card status, you do not have to tell them. This is true even if they ask you about it directly. HIPAA is designed to give people privacy when it comes to their medical records, and MMJ use is a part of that record.

person holding jar of MMJ product
Image by Jeff W on Unsplash: Medical marijuana is legal in Missouri, but what does the law say about employment with a medical card?

Missouri drug testing laws 2021

In the state of Missouri, there are no laws that explicitly prohibit an employer from performing random drug tests on employees. Since there are no laws surrounding it, it can be a tricky subject for many who use medical marijuana for an approved condition and are worried that they might test positive if a drug test were to occur. Employers may also be confused about drug testing employees who may use medical marijuana. Drug tests are still allowed to be conducted on all employees regardless of their MMJ status in the state.

If an employee were to test positive, they may be unsure if they could be fired, since the Missouri Constitutional Amendment No. 2 is without any laws stating otherwise. However, people who live in Missouri now have rights to use medical marijuana as medicine if they qualify under the state program. Unfortunately, it is a gray area that leaves both patients and employers vulnerable to unfair action.

Can you get fired for having a medical card in Missouri?

Currently, there are no laws stating that an employer who conducts drug tests cannot fire an employee if they test positive for medical marijuana. Because of this, employers and employees are in the middle of question mark surrounding medical marijuana use and employment.

Senate Bill 610 has recently been in the works; if the bill passes, it will give employers the right to fire anyone who tests positive for marijuana use, even if they have a medical marijuana card. This puts MMJ users in a tough spot when it comes to employment in Missouri.

person meeting with their employer in missouri
Image by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash: Can your boss fire you for using medical marijuana in Missouri?

Can you pass a drug test with a medical card in Missouri?

Unfortunately, there is no way to pass a drug test if you use medical marijuana. Regardless of whether you use and obtain marijuana legally, it will still be in your system. This can create some anxiety surrounding employment within a company that conducts random drug tests on its employees.

The laws in Missouri surrounding the use of medical marijuana and employment protection need to be taken out of the gray area. Because of a lack of clarity surrounding employee and employer rights when it comes to the use of MMJ, employers seem to have the upper hand, and can establish their own rules when it comes to drug testing and how positive tests are handled.

For those working in Missouri and using medical marijuana for a qualifying condition, there is still hope. Many businesses in the state may feel that drug testing may not be needed, or worth the legal challenges it may come with. Until the laws are clear, though, employees with medical marijuana cards may need to take the gray area into consideration when choosing an employer.

Featured image by Chris Hardy on Unsplash

Does Missouri Accept Out-Of-State MMJ Cards?

Missouri legalized medical marijuana in 2018, and its MMJ program opened for business in the fall of 2020. Medical marijuana dispensaries have since opened across the state, selling a broad range of high-quality, locally produced MMJ products.

Missouri medical card holders enjoy an efficient, patient-friendly MMJ system that is improving lives by alleviating the symptoms of a wide range of medical conditions. But can out-of-state medical marijuana cardholders buy MMJ in Missouri dispensaries? Read on to find out.

Can You Buy From A Dispensary With an Out-Of-State MMJ Card?

Unfortunately, there is no blanket answer to the question “can you buy MMJ from a dispensary out-of-state”. Each state has its own rules and regulations regarding this issue.

Medical Marijuana Reciprocity

Some states practice MMJ reciprocity, which means that MMJ cardholders from certain other states can buy medical marijuana in local dispensaries. Other states do not allow people to buy MMJ without a local MMJ card. In states that have legalized recreational marijuana, anybody over the age of 21 can buy marijuana products.

person with MMJ product at dispensary
Image by Jeff W on Unsplash: Does Missouri accept out-of-state MMJ cards?

Do You Need A Medical Card To Buy From A Dispensary In Missouri?

Yes, you need to possess a Missouri medical marijuana card to be able to purchase MMJ from Missouri dispensaries.

Can You Buy MMJ In Missouri With An Out-Of-State MMJ Card?

Does Missouri accept out-of-state MMJ cards? Unfortunately, the answer is no. Missouri does not practice MMJ reciprocity, meaning you cannot buy MMJ in Missouri dispensaries with an out-of-state MMJ card.

Out-Of-State Cardholders Can Consume MMJ In Missouri

Despite the fact that Missouri does not practice reciprocity and therefore does not allow out-of-state MMJ card holders to purchase medical marijuana locally, it does allow out-of-state cardholders to consume MMJ.

This means that card holders from other legal MMJ states can legally consume MMJ that they have brought with them from their home state. This can be a confusing situation for MMJ patients, however, because bringing medical marijuana across state borders is illegal at the federal level.

Can You Get A Medical Card In A Different State?

In most states, you must be a resident of the state in order to get an MMJ card. However, several states (for example, Oklahoma) have a medical marijuana temporary adult patient license, which is an MMJ license that can be used to purchase medical marijuana for a limited period while you are visiting the state. Unfortunately, Missouri does not offer temporary visitor MMJ cards.

What States Accept Out-Of-State MMJ Cards?

The following states accept medical marijuana cards from other legal MMJ states:

  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • Michigan
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • Oklahoma
  • Puerto Rico
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington, DC

What Are The Qualifying Conditions For Medical Marijuana In Missouri?

The following conditions qualify you for a medical marijuana card in Missouri:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Chronic pain
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Huntington’s disease
  • IBS
  • Intractable migraines
  • Lou Gehrig’s disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Opioid substitution
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • PTSD or other debilitating psychiatric disorders
  • Tourette syndrome
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • Seizures
  • Terminal illness
  • A “chronic, debilitating, or other medical condition” that a Missouri licensed physician decides would benefit from treatment with medical marijuana

What Are The Medical Marijuana Possession Limits In Missouri?

Missouri implements the following medical marijuana possession limits:

  • Resident and visiting MMJ cardholders may possess 4 oz of medical marijuana per 30-day period.
  • Resident MMJ cardholders may purchase up to 4 oz of usable cannabis per 30-day period.

Missouri MMJ cardholders are allowed to cultivate six flowering plants at home. For home cultivation, you must get an identification card from the Missouri Department of Health, which costs $100.

medical marijuana products
Image by TechPhotoGal on Pixabay: Missouri MMJ dispensaries sell a wide range of products.

Where Can You Consume Medical Marijuana In Missouri?

It is illegal to consume medical marijuana in a public place or vehicle in Missouri. MMJ can only be consumed in a private location.

How Do You Get A Missouri Medical Marijuana Card?

You can apply for a Missouri medical marijuana card by arranging a telemedicine consultation with a licensed Missouri physician on the MMJRecs online clinic.

Once your suitability for MMJ treatment has been verified, you and the physician should complete the relevant sections of a Physician Certification Form. Once completed, the form should then be submitted, along with $25, to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Citizens.

Featured image by Briana Tozour on Unsplash

How Long Does It Take To Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

In Missouri, people can use medical marijuana to treat a wide range of illnesses and medical conditions. Missouri voted to pass Amendment 2, which legalized medical marijuana, in 2018, and after a slow start, the state’s MMJ program is now flourishing.

Missouri began awarding its first licenses to marijuana growers and dispensaries in late 2019, but MMJ products only became available to Missourians in the fall of 2020. At first, the supply of medical marijuana was limited, and prices reflected this by being relatively high. But as Missouri MMJ growers became fully operational, the supply and variety of products available increased and prices decreased.

With Missouri’s medical marijuana program now fully up and running, more and more people in the state are eager to avail of MMJ treatment. So how long does it take to get an MMJ card in Missouri? And is getting a Missouri medical marijuana card an easy process? Let’s find out.

kansas city missouri
Image by Daniel Thomas on Unsplash: Getting a Missouri MMJ card is an easy process.

How Easy Is It To Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

The Missouri medical marijuana program is straightforward and well-organized. Missouri is a new medical marijuana state and so it has been able to learn from the successes and failures of other states in implementing a patient-friendly MMJ program. Getting an MMJ card in Missouri is a quick and easy process.

How Do You Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

You apply for your Missouri MMJ card by submitting a Physician Certification Form to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Citizens. The form must be completed by the applicant and a licensed Missouri physician.

The quickest way to have a consultation with a licensed Missouri physician is to set up a telemedicine appointment through the MMJRecs online clinic. In the online consultation, the physician will determine your suitability for MMJ treatment. If MMJ treatment is deemed appropriate, the physician will complete the relevant sections of an MMJ application form and forward it to you by email.

What Are The Qualifying Conditions For A Medical Card In Missouri?

  • Cancer
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Intractable migraines
  • A chronic medical condition that causes severe, persistent pain or persistent muscle spasms
  • Debilitating psychiatric disorders
  • Human immunodeficiency virus or acquired immune deficiency syndrome
  • A chronic medical condition that is normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence, when a physician determines that medical marijuana could be effective in treating that condition and would serve as a safer alternative to the prescription medication
  • A terminal illness                               
  • Any other chronic, debilitating, or other medical condition including, but not limited to, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, inflammatory bowel disease, Crohn’s disease, Huntington’s disease, autism, neuropathies, sickle cell anemia, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, cachexia, and wasting syndrome

How Much Does It Cost To Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

It costs $25 to apply for a Missouri MMJ card, and the fee must be paid each year when the card is renewed.

How Long Does It Take To Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

Once you have submitted your MMJ card application to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Citizens, it will be processed within 30 days.

How Long Does It Take To Get Your Medical Card In The Mail?

How long it takes to get your medical card in the mail can vary depending on where you live. The postal service will usually receive your MMJ card within 14 days of it being posted, so the maximum you should expect to wait to receive your Missouri MMJ card in the mail is six weeks from the date you submit your application.

Can I Use My Missouri Medical Card As Soon As I Receive It In The Mail?

Yes, you can use your Missouri MMJ card to enter dispensaries and purchase products as soon as you receive it.

kansas city missouri at night
Image by Briana Tozour on Unsplash: How much does a Missouri MMJ card cost?

Where Can I Use My Missouri Medical Marijuana Card?

You can use your medical card in any Missouri MMJ dispensary. A few other states allow MMJ cardholders from any other state to buy MMJ in their local dispensaries; these states include Nevada, Arizona, Maine, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, and the District of Columbia.

What Can I Buy With A Missouri Medical Card?

Missouri medical marijuana dispensaries sell a wide variety of MMJ products:

  • MMJ flower
  • Edibles
  • MMJ pre-rolls
  • Tinctures
  • Vape cartridges
  • Topical creams, gels, and rubs

Can Out-Of-State Medical Card-Holders Purchase MMJ In Missouri?

Missouri does not practice reciprocity, which means it does not allow out-of-state medical marijuana cardholders to purchase MMJ products in Missouri dispensaries.

Featured image by fotobias on Pixabay

How Do You Get A Medical Marijuana Card In Missouri?

Medical marijuana became legal in Missouri in 2018 when Missourians voted to enact Amendment 2, which legalized MMJ as a treatment option for a variety of medical conditions. In late 2019, the state of Missouri began awarding licenses to MMJ producers and dispensaries. The first dispensaries opened their doors in October 2020, selling a relatively limited range of quite expensive MMJ products. As medical marijuana cultivation by Missouri’s brand-new MMJ producers has caught up to demand, a much wider variety of less expensive medical marijuana products has become available.

The Missouri MMJ industry is still very new. But as the state’s new MMJ producers and dispensaries find their feet, Missouri’s tens of thousands of medical card holders are getting to enjoy the benefits of an excellent MMJ program. So how can you avail of Missouri’s new medical marijuana program? The first step is to get yourself a Missouri MMJ card.

Here is everything you need to know about how to get a medical marijuana card in Missouri.

MMJRecs - cannabis
Image by cheifyc on Pixabay: Getting a Missouri MMJ card is a straightforward process.

Is It Hard To Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

Getting a medical marijuana card in Missouri is a straightforward process. The state’s MMJ system is well-run and easy to navigate. There is a wide range of qualifying conditions for MMJ treatment in Missouri, and applying for a card is a quick and inexpensive process.

What Qualifies For Medical Marijuana In Missouri?

Here is a full list of the qualifying conditions for a medical marijuana card in Missouri:

  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Chronic pain
  • Epilepsy
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Huntington’s disease
  • IBS
  • Intractable migraines
  • Lou Gehrig’s disease
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Opioid substitution
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • PTSD or other debilitating psychiatric disorders
  • Tourette syndrome
  • Sickle cell anemia
  • Seizures
  • Terminal illness
  • A “chronic, debilitating, or other medical condition” that a physician decides would benefit from treatment with medical marijuana

How Much Does It Cost To Get A Medical Card In Missouri?

Applying for an MMJ card in Missouri costs $25. This fee needs to be paid yearly when the card is renewed.

Where Can You Buy Medical Marijuana In Missouri?

You can buy medical marijuana in Missouri MMJ dispensaries. There are currently around 200 medical marijuana dispensaries open across the state.

What MMJ Products Are Available In Missouri?

Missouri MMJ dispensaries sell:

  • MMJ flower
  • Pre-rolls
  • Edibles
  • Topical creams, gels, and rubs
  • Tinctures
  • Vape cartridges

How Much MMJ Can You Legally Have In Missouri?

You can purchase up to four ounces of MMJ every 30 days and cultivate up to six flowering plants at home. To cultivate MMJ at home you must apply for an identification card from the Missouri Department of Health that costs $100.

Can You Get Fired For Having A Medical Card In Missouri?

You can be fired for failing a drugs test in certain jobs in Missouri. Having a Missouri MMJ card does not directly protect you from being fired if you fail a drugs test.

Where Can You Consume Medical Marijuana In Missouri?

You can only consume MMJ in a private location in Missouri. It is not legal to consume MMJ in a public place or in a vehicle.

Can You Use An Out-Of-State MMJ Card In Missouri?

You cannot purchase medical marijuana products in Missouri dispensaries with an out-of-state MMJ card.

MMJRecs - THC cannabis
Image by gjbmiller on Pixabay: You can purchase marijuana flower with a Missouri MMJ card.

Is Recreational Marijuana Legal In Missouri?

Recreational marijuana is still illegal in Missouri. The only way to avail of MMJ treatment in the state is by applying for a Missouri MMJ card.

How Do You Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card In Missouri?

You can apply for a Missouri medical marijuana card through the Department of Health and Senior Citizens.

The first step is to have a consultation with a licensed Missouri physician. Both the applicant and physician must complete the necessary sections of a Physician Certification Form. The form needs to be submitted, along with a fee of $25, to the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Citizens.

The MMJ consultation can be done remotely using telemedicine. The best way to set this up is through the MMJRecs online clinic. Once the physician has verified your suitability, they will fill in the form and you can submit it straight away. It is a simple and quick process.

Featured image by Darren Hibbs on Pixabay